Manage your search history in Workspace

The set of productivity products known as Google Workspace includes:

  • Gmail
  • Calendar
  • Drive
  • Docs
  • Sheets
  • Slides
  • Meet
  • Sites
  • And more

When Google Workspace search history is on, your searches in Gmail and Drive are saved in your Google Account. For existing users, previous searches from Google Workspace services that were stored in Web & App Activity automatically transition into Google Workspace search history when it is available. Further in the future, Google Workspace search history might encompass search in more Google Workspace services besides Gmail and Drive.

About Google Workspace search history

  • Google Workspace Search History makes it easier and faster for users to find their content when using Google Workspace products with personalized search results.
  • Your search history in Google Workspace products are available from the Google Workspace search history setting linked to from "Other Google activity" in your My Activity page.
  • Google never uses your data in Google Workspace core services for advertising.

Tip: If you’re based in Europe, Google Workspace search history is disabled by default.

Turn Google Workspace search history on or off

  1. In your Google Account, go to Google Workspace search history.
  2. Turn Google Workspace search history on or off.

If you turn Google Workspace search history off, your past data isn’t deleted. 

Tip: Some browsers and devices may have more settings that affect how activity is saved.

Find or delete Google Workspace search history

To find and delete your Google Workspace search history, go to Google Workspace search history.

Learn how to delete your activity.

Tip: Searches you performed on Gmail and Google Chat mobile applications are stored separately and need to be deleted from within those apps.

Delete Google Workspace search history automatically

By default, your Google Workspace search history is deleted after 18 months. You can configure deletion periods of 3, 18, 36 months, or never. To change how long your search history is saved:

  1. In your Google Account, go to Google Workspace search history activity controls.
  2. Click Auto-delete.
  3. Select how long you want to keep your activity.
  4. Click Next and then Confirm.

Tip: Some activity may expire sooner than the timeframe you chose.

Was this helpful?
How can we improve it?
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu
Search Help Center
false
false
true
70975
false
false